Arkham Asylum – Jane Doe Episode 3

Episode 3

 

 

Jane is sitting in a blank white walled small box room. There is a chaise lounge on one side of the room and a chair and table opposite. Sitting on a chaise lounge, Jane is calm and still. Doctor walks in with an orderly.

 
Doctor: Good Evening Jane, how are you today?

 
Jane: Isn’t this cosy?

 
Doctor: Do you like it, it’s more – comfortable.

 
Jane: Now, Doctor, are you thinking of some therapy sessions today?

 
Doctor: What makes you think that, Jane?

 
Jane: Well, this nice set up, long couch, you on one end, me on the other. Looking for some more bonding?

 
Doctor: Do you want therapy? Have you ever had it before?

 
Jane: Whenever I was 11, my mum took me –

 
Doctor laughs. Jane darts her head towards him. Glares at him, she isn’t impressed.

 
Jane: It’s rude to interrupt people’s stories.

 
Doctor: And Lord knows I do love your stories Jane. How quickly you get into character, is it though? A character?

 
Jane: I don’t think I follow, Doctor.

 
Doctor: Is it a made up character or a victim’s story?

 
Jane: Well, if you let me finish my story…you might’ve found out.

 
Doctor: Well, Jane, I’m sick of stories, I’m sick of these little games. You’ve been here a week now and it’s just all stories. Going around in circles. I’m a little bored to be honest with you. Now I want facts.

 
Jane: Bored? Already? That’s a little disappointing. I thought you were in it for the long haul. I guess not.

 
Doctor: Sorry to disappoint you. Now, let’s get some truths shall we?

 
Jane: So, do you want me to lie down, breath slowly and start from the beginning? Is that it Doctor?

 
Doctor smiles at Jane

 
Doctor: Not quite Jane. I am thinking about doing a hypnosis session.
Jane: Hypnosis?

 
Doctor: Yes, Jane.

 
Jane begins to laugh hysterically, the Doctor remains smiling.

 
Jane: If I recall, hypnosis – not only being utter shit – but if one does believe it works, it only works on – how should I put this – weak willed minds. Do you think I am weak minded Doctor? Do you think it will work?

 
Jane’s laughter slowly turns, her tone changes from humor to insult.

 
Jane: Do I look like I am weak willed, compliant? Do you think I will be submissive? Do I look like the obedient kind of girl Doctor? Do I?

 
Doctor’s smile remains which makes Jane more frustrated.

 
Doctor: No,no you don’t Jane.

 
The Doctor nods at the orderly. And he lunges at Jane and tries to pin her down. She struggles and begins to wrap her legs round his neck, ready to snap it the Doctor then jumps in with a needle and injects her. Jane screams. She immediately goes limp, letting go of the orderly.

 
Jane: WHAT DID YOU DO?

 
Doctor: It’s a sedative mixed with a muscle relaxer. You know, to make you more compliant.

 
Jane: You tricked me with him, it was a distraction.

 
Doctor: I thought you like tricks Jane. Tricks, games, stories? I thought that was your kinda thing.

 
Jane: I will kill you!

 
Doctor: Don’t be like that Jane. Let’s go back to being friends.

 
Jane begins to become a little breathless.

 
Jane: Do you really think this will make me talk to you? Give you the answers you want?

 
Doctor: We will see. Now, Jane. As the serum is working its way in your body, you will lose a quick percentage of your body’s energy, so if I was you I’d focus on what parts you want to work, and not waste the little energy you have. For example; Fighting the serum and anger is wasting your breathing energy. Can’t have it all unfortunately. So you either, calm down or you can fight it and possible stop breathing. Because that breathlessness will just get worse.

 
Jane stares at him with disgust and anger but begins to relax.

 
Doctor: Good girl. You’re making the right decision.

 
The Doctor pulls out a metronome and sets it slow.

 
Jane: Really? – You –Think that – will

 
Doctor: Focus Jane. Is arguing the best thing right now?

 
Jane becomes submissive and relaxes again much to the Doctor’s glee

 
Doctor: Good. Now, I’ll start with something easy. If you can keep it with yes or no answers, to save your energies for the more … difficult questions.

 
Jane is silent.

 
Doctor: Do you understand that?

 
She remains silent.

 
Doctor: Really, Jane? I feel like we’re passed this. Now, do you understand?

 
Jane: Yes

 
Doctor: Good girl! See we are getting somewhere.

 
The doctor begins to talk slow and calming

 
Now, I want you to fully relax. Immerse yourself into your body. Feel your breathing, relax. I want you to imagine walking down stairs. Walking down a long flight of stairs slowly. It’s effortless, gravity is gently pulling you down. You don’t have to use much effort at all. Keep walking. Are you relaxed Jane?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: Good, let’s start with something nice and simple. Do you know why you are here Jane?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: You got caught, is that correct?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: Pretending to be someone?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: Your latest victim?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: Did you kill her?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: Did you hate her?

 
Jane: No.

 
Doctor: Did you like her?

 
Jane: No.

 
Doctor: Did you like any of your victims?

 
Jane: Yes.

 
Doctor: Give me a name.

 
Jane: Martha

 
Doctor: Martha? We don’t have record of a Martha, Martha who?

 
Jane: Martha.

 
Doctor: Do you know her last name?

 
Jane: No.

 
Doctor: Jane, what is your real name?

 
Jane is unresponsive.

 
Doctor: Jane, tell me your name?

 
Jane is still unresponsive.

 
Doctor: What age are you?

 
Nothing

 
Doctor: Where were you born?

 
Still nothing. The Doctor begins to get irritate.

 
Doctor: Jane?

 
Jane: Yes

 
Doctor: Do you understand what I am asking you?

 
Jane: Yes

 
Doctor: What is your name?

 
Jane: Martha

 
Doctor: Is Martha your name?

 
Jane: Martha

 
Doctor: Or is she your victim?

 
Jane: Martha

 
Doctor: Is that your name?

 
Jane: Martha

 
Doctor: Martha who, Jane? Martha who?

 
Jane: Martha

 
Doctor: MARTHA WHO?!

 
Jane: Martha, she was a friend that lived next door to me when I was 9 –

 
The Doctor sighs.

 
She was a good friend, mousey little child. I took –

 
Doctor: Another story. Isn’t it Jane? Another act, another sham, another tale.

 
Jane: Doctor, whatever do you mean?

 
Jane is mocking the Doctor. Then begins to laugh hysterically.

 
Jane: Did you really think any of this would work on me Doctor? I thought you said you didn’t like games? You seem to play them very well.

 
Doctor: This session is over.

 
The Doctor storms out the room defeated. The orderly follows him for further instructions. Jane is alone.

 
Jane: It’s not over. It hasn’t even started yet.

Leave a Reply

